Power-to-Gas

The increasing proportion of highly volatile feed-in from wind and PV systems requires a decoupling of energy supply and demand. In addition to any kind of storage, technologies such as power-to-gas play a crucial role here. Because the power-to-gas technology combines two elementary goals of the energy revolution: a flexible balance between electricity generation and consumption using the price volatility on the electricity exchange and the appropriate use of the surplus power by converting it to storable methane that is usable in many ways.

How does a power-to-gas plant work? In times when very cheap electricity is available from wind and the sun, an electrolyser converts it into hydrogen. The electrolyser uses this electricity to split water into oxygen and hydrogen, a process called electrolysis. In a second processing step, the hydrogen is then converted to methane; currently, there are various approaches to this conversion step. The methane produced can then be stored and converted into electricity again when required or alternatively used in the mobility and heat sector. The date and location of production of renewable energy are thus decoupled from consumption with respect to time and place.

Viessmann pilot project

At the power-to-gas plant in Allendorf, BayWa r.e. is producing gas when the electricity price is low together with Viessmann, a manufacturer of heating, industrial and refrigeration systems. Here, our Trading & Operations Cockpit controls the plant to respond to price fluctuations in the electricity markets and to the demand for balancing power at short notice. The plant’s hydrogen electrolyser gets hydrogen from the current, which is converted into methane by microorganisms with the addition of CO2 from a neighbouring biogas plant.


Matthias Karger

Contact person

Mr. Jonas Zingerle
Phone+49 341 30 86 06 276

Power-to-Gas

Der zunehmende Anteil stark volatiler Einspeisung aus Wind- und PV-Anlagen erfordert eine Entkopplung von Energieangebot und -nachfrage. Neben Speichern jeglicher Art spielen hierbei Technologien wie Power-to-Gas eine entscheidende Rolle. Denn die Power-to-Gas vereint zwei elementare Ziele der Energiewende: Ein flexibler Ausgleich zwischen Stromerzeugung und Verbrauch unter Nutzung der Preisvolatilität an der Strombörse sowie die sinnvolle Verwendung des Überschussstroms durch dessen Umwandlung in speicherbares und vielfältig nutzbares Methan.

Wie funktioniert eine Power-to-Gas-Anlage? In Zeiten, in denen sehr günstiger Strom aus Wind und Sonne verfügbar ist, wandelt ein Elektrolyseur diesen in Wasserstoff um. Der Elektrolyseur nutzt hierfür Strom, um Wasser in Sauerstoff und Wasserstoff zu spalten. Ein Vorgang, der Elektrolyse genannt wird. Der Wasserstoff wird dann in einem zweiten Verarbeitungsschritt zu Methan gewandelt. Für diesen Umwandlungsschritt existieren derzeit verschiedene Ansätze. Das gewonnene Methan kann dann gespeichert und bei Bedarf wieder rückverstromt werden oder alternativ im Mobilitäts- und Wärmesektor verwendet werden. Ort und Zeitpunkt der Erzeugung erneubarer Energie werden somit zeitlich und räumlich vom Verbrauch entkoppelt.

Pilotprojekt Viessmann

Gas erzeugen, wenn der Strompreis niedrig ist, das macht CLENS gemeinsam mit dem Heiz-, Industrie- und Kühlsystemhersteller Viessmann in der Power-to-Gas-Anlage im hessischen Allendorf (Eder). Hier steuert unser Trading & Operation Cockpit die Anlage, um kurzfristig auf Preisschwankungen an den Strommärkten und die Nachfrage nach Regelenergie zu reagieren. Der Wasserstoffelektrolyseur der Anlage gewinnt aus Strom Wasserstoff, der von Mikroorganismen unter Zugabe von CO2 aus einer benachbarten Biogasanlage zu Methan gewandelt wird.

Mehr zum gemeinsamen Projekt mit Viessmann


Matthias Karger

Ansprechpartner

Herr Jonas Zingerle
Telefon+49 341 30 86 06 276